It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:29 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 filter for a wall mount power supply 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:46 am
Posts: 2
Post filter for a wall mount power supply
I recently built a practice amp using surplus stuff I got cheap. I was using a plug in transformer and it had lots of hum so I built a filter using a 100 ohm resistor and a 1000 mf electrolytic cap. it seemed to work good at first. I came back after a while and played some more and I noticed it made a tremolo effect when I played a loud chord and the power light blinked. I was wondering if the cap is breaking down. its rated to 50v but its old and been stored in a hot area. should I buy a new cap and try again. it is a SKB footnote guitar amp I got cheap and put in my on cabinet. I takes a 9vdc center negative supply.


Wed Jun 24, 2015 2:45 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:49 pm
Posts: 726
Post Re: filter for a wall mount power supply
It seems like you might be operating a circuit that requires a dual-polarity DC supply on a single DC supply. Or, maybe one of the circuit-common/"ground" nodes is not joined with the others.

The link below is to details for obtaining a dual-polarity DC supply from a single-polarity DC supply

Single to Dual DC Power Example

_________________
Scott Lee
scott@paia.com


Wed Jun 24, 2015 3:25 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:46 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: filter for a wall mount power supply
I had the wrong cable for my speaker


Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:55 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Theme designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin , adapted for PAIA by Illumimedia Design Studios
Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php